The Auditor General of the Army

Friday, February 17th, 2017


Mr. Randall L. Exley, retired as the Auditor General of the Army and Ms. Anne L. Richards is welcomed new Auditor General of the Army. 

On 31 December 2016, The Auditor General of the Army, Randall L. Exley, retired after 45 1/2 years of Federal service. On 15 December 2016 he was honored with a retirement ceremony at Fort Belvoir, VA, hosted by the Honorable Patrick J. Murphy, Under Secretary of the Army.

Read the full article

On 9 January 2017, Ms. Anne L. Richards was sworn in as The Auditor General of the U.S. Army at the U.S. Army Audit Agency's Operations Center on Fort Belvoir, Virginia. Prior to assuming the duties of The Auditor General, Ms. Richards was the Assistant Inspector General for Inspections and Evaluations with the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Office of the Inspector General. Read the full article

Significant Efforts Still Needed for Remediating Audit Readiness Deficiencies

Friday, February 17th, 2017


The Schedules of Budgetary Activity (Budgetary Schedules) for the Army, Navy, and Air Force for fiscal year 2015 reflected current year budget activity as an interim step toward producing an auditable Statement of Budgetary Resources that will reflect multiyear budget activity. All three of the independent public accountants (IPA) contracted to audit these fiscal year 2015 Budgetary Schedules issued disclaimers, meaning that the IPAs were unable to express an opinion because of a lack of sufficient evidence to support the amounts presented.
Read the full report.

John P. Roth, Under Secretary of Defense (Comptroller) and Chief Financial Officer

Friday, February 3rd, 2017


Mr. Roth is performing the duties of the Undersecretary of Defense (Comptroller) and Chief Financial Officer. He serves as the principal advisor to the Secretary of Defense on all budgetary and financial management matters.

To read John P. Roth’s full bio, visit:

The Budget and Economic Outlook: 2017 to 2027

Thursday, February 2nd, 2017


The Congressional Budget Office’s (CBO) has projected the budget deficit for 2017 to be similar to 2016. CBO’s baseline estimate of the 2017 deficit is $559 billion, or 2.9 percent of gross domestic product—less than the $587 billion deficit posted in 2016. Both totals, however, are affected by shifts in the timing of some payments. Outlays in 2016—and thus the deficit—were boosted by $41 billion because certain payments that were to be made on October 1, 2016 (the first day of fiscal year 2017), were instead made in fiscal year 2016 because October 1 fell on a weekend.

For the full report and to download the PDF, visit

Presidential Executive Order on Reducing Regulation and Controlling Regulatory Costs

Monday, January 30th, 2017


30 January 2017

On 30 January 2017, President Trump issued an executive order regarding the policy of the executive branch to be prudent and financially responsible in the expenditure of funds, from both public and private sources. The Executive Order also addressed the regulatory cap for FY2017 and the annual regulatory cost submission to OMB.

Read the complete Executive Order

2 February 2017

Memorandum: Interim Guidance Implementing Section 2 of the Executive Order of January 30, 2017, Titled “Reducing Regulation and Controlling Regulatory Costs”

Memorandum for: Regulatory Policy Officers at Executive Departments and Agencies and Manning And Executive Directors of Certain Agencies and Commissions.

FROM: Dominic J. Mancini, Acting Administrator
Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs

Read the memorandum posted 2 February 2017, on the White House's Briefing Room

Nonprofit Website Design Custom Web Design